Breaking News

Congress-Maoist parties file no-confidence motion against Lumbini CM

A no-confidence motion has been filed against Lumbini Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel. On Monday, Nepali Congress, Maoist Center, and Jaspa MPs filed a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Pokharel. The name of Kul Prasad KC has been proposed as the new Chief Minister.

A no-confidence motion has been registered in the state assembly with the signatures of 41 lawmakers, Congress state assembly chief whip Fakhruddin Khan told Ratopati. 

There are 87 MPs in the Lumbini Provincial Assembly. Among them, the ruling CPN-UML has 41 MPs. A majority requires at least 43 MPs. Similarly, the Maoist center has taken action against two of its MPs.

Apart from the UCPN (M) Central Speaker, there are 17 MPs in the state assembly, 20 from the Nepali Congress, and 6 from the JSP Nepal. The risk of floss crush in Lumbini is the same as in Karnali. 

No comments